

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No 1006 Vienna, 3 July 2014

EU Statement on the Violation of OSCE Principles and Commitments by the Russian Federation and the Situation in Ukraine

The European Union is relieved that the monitors of the OSCE Special Monitoring Mission (SMM) to Ukraine detained by illegal armed groups in Eastern Ukraine have now all been released. We commend the SMM leadership for their tireless efforts in facilitating the release. We also thank the trilateral contact group and others for their role. We call for the release of all other hostages.

Mr Chairman,

We recall that on the 27 June 2014 the European Council expressed its support for President Poroshenko's Peace Plan; it took note of the Russian President's declaration of support in principle of the peace plan and the Federation Council's decision to revoke the authorisation to use Russian forces to intervene militarily in Ukraine; it expressed its regret that the cease-fire while being respected by the Ukrainian authorities has not led to the full cessation of military hostilities; it called on all parties to genuinely commit to the implementation of the peace plan and to cement the cessation of the military activities; and it also urged the Russian Federation to actively use its influence over the illegally armed groups and to stop the flow of weapons and militants across the border, in order to achieve rapid and tangible results in de-escalation. We call for the full implementation of the four steps outlined by the European Council on 27 June. We recall that the European Council underlined its commitment to reconvene at any time for further significant restrictive measures.

We welcome the high-level dialogue between Ukraine, Germany, France and the Russian Federation and their Joint Declaration of 2 July, in which they strongly reconfirmed their commitment to sustainable peace and stability in Ukraine and stressed the necessity of a sustainable ceasefire, to be agreed upon swiftly and to be observed by all concerned. We also welcome the important role that the trilateral contact group is playing in this context.

We continue to express our strong support to the ongoing efforts of the OSCE and the Chairmanship-in-Office. The SMM plays a crucial role and we look forward to an early decision on the extension of the Mission's mandate. We call for all OSCE monitors and other OSCE staff to have safe and free access throughout Ukraine to fulfill their mandate.

We share the concerns expressed by the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media in her recent statements on violations of media freedom and the appalling journalists' safety situation in eastern Ukraine, including on 30 June alone the death of Anatoliy Klyan, a cameraman with Russian Perviy Kanal; and the illegal detention in the Luhansk region of two Ukrainian journalists from Hromadske TV, and whose reported release we welcome. We welcome the agreement on an action plan to improve the media freedom situation in and around Ukraine, including cooperation on steps to increase journalists' safety and professionalism, at the second meeting of Ukrainian and Russian journalists' unions organised in Vienna on 27 June by the Representative on Freedom of the Media.

Mr. Chairman,

The EU stands firm in upholding Ukraine's unity, sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders, and calls upon Russia to do likewise. We urge Russia to recognise these fundamental principles that it has itself invoked many times and to contribute, by acts and public pronouncements, to stabilise the situation and reverse moves that contravene these principles. We reiterate our strong condemnation of the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol to the Russian Federation and we will not recognise it.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+ and ALBANIA*, and the EFTA country NORWAY, member of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

- * The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.