The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/1090/24 20 September 2024

ENGLISH only



## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No.1488 Vienna, 19 September 2024

## EU Statement on "Sixteen years since the full-scale military aggression against Georgia by the Russian Federation"(Current Issue to be raised by Georgia)

- On 7 August 2024, we marked 16 years since the war between Russia and Georgia began in 2008. The European Union's commitment to peaceful resolution of the conflicts in Georgia remains firm.
- 2. We reiterate our condemnation of Russia's continued military presence in the occupied breakaway regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia in violation of both international law and Russia's commitments under the 12 August 2008 six-point agreement. The human rights of conflict-affected communities in Georgia continue to be violated, including through 'borderisation' policies, closures of crossing points, and illegal detentions by the Russian military and de facto authorities. Restrictions on freedom of movement must end, human rights violations must be investigated, and justice must be ensured for all victims.
- 3. We will continue to provide all relevant support to Georgia in addressing the challenges it faces also as a consequence of Russia's war of aggression against Ukraine, and to strengthen its resilience in the face of destabilising activities by Russia.
- 4. We remain fully committed to peaceful conflict resolution, including through the European Union's engagement as co-chair in the Geneva International Discussions (GID), the work of the EU Special Representative for the South

Caucasus and the crisis in Georgia, and the continued presence of the EU Monitoring Mission (EUMM Georgia) on the ground. We call on all GID participants to engage constructively in the discussions to achieve the full implementation of the 12 August 2008 six-point agreement.

5. The European Union reiterates its unwavering support for the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognised borders.

The Candidate Countries TÜRKIYE, NORTH MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, ALBANIA\*, UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA\*, and GEORGIA, the EFTA country LIECHTENSTEIN, member of the European Economic Area, as well as ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

\* North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, and Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.