

PC.DEL/669/13 11 July 2013

ENGLISH only

## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council Nr 960 Vienna, 11 July 2013

## EU statement on the commemoration of Srebrenica

The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Permanent Council to the statement by the EU High Representative, Catherine Ashton, on the commemoration of Srebrenica issued on 11 July in Brussels:

"Eighteen years have passed since the genocide was committed in Srebrenica in July 1995. The pain and grief of those who lost their children, parents, relatives and friends remain ever present. On behalf of the European Union, I pay my respect to the victims.

409 people will be buried in Potočari today, thus joining thousands of those who have already found their final resting place in Srebrenica Memorial and Cemetery. Among them there will be the remains of 20 year-old Nermin, whose mother, Munira Subašić, guided me during my visit to Srebrenica in April this year.

No words can describe the pain a mother and father feel when burying a child of theirs. And no words can give peace of mind to families of the victims. Nevertheless, what we can demonstrate is respect for their loss, refusal of genocide denial and, as a concrete measure, support to justice. The processing of the war crimes committed throughout Bosnia and Herzegovina shall continue to ensure that truth is established, justice is guaranteed, and reconciliation can be consolidated, including at the regional level.

The decades - long reconciliation process that brought to the creation of the European Union should inspire the reconciliation in the Western Balkans. Large steps have been made in that direction, but there is still much to be done, especially by those in positions of authority, so that citizens of the region can fully enjoy peace and prosperity, together with their fellow Europeans."

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, ICELAND+ and SERBIA\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate ALBANIA, the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of MOLDOVA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO, align themselves with this statement.

\* the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.