ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 864 Vienna, 2 June 2011

EU statement on the arrest of Ratko Mladić

The European Union welcomes the arrest of Ratko Mladić and his prompt transfer to the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, in The Hague.

At this time, our thoughts and sympathies are with all those who suffered and lost loved ones during the conflict in the former Yugoslavia, particularly in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The arrest of Ratko Mladić - nearly 16 years after he was indicted by the ICTY for genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes - represents a real advance in the cause of international justice, and for the principle that there can be no impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community as a whole.

The EU congratulates the Government of Serbia on the arrest. The arrest of Mladić is evidence of the commitment by Serbia to continue its co-operation with the ICTY. We welcome President Boris Tadić's commitment to ensure the arrest and transfer of the last remaining ICTY indictee, Goran Hadžić. We reiterate our support for President Tadić's tireless work aimed at realising Serbia's European perspective.

The EU hopes that the arrest and transfer of Mladić will mark the opening of a new chapter for the countries of the Western Balkans, hastening reconciliation throughout the region and within Serbia itself, accelerating reform and reinforcing stability.

The candidate countries TURKEY, the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO* and ICELAND**, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate country ALBANIA, the European Free Trade Association countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, ARMENIA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

^{*} The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

^{**}Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and the European Economic Area.