PC.DEL/457/10 27 May 2010

2010.es

**ENGLISH** only

## **Spanish Presidency of the European Union**

OSCE Permanent Council No. 811 Vienna, 27<sup>th</sup> May 2010

EU statement on death penalty in the United States

The EU opposes death penalty in all cases and under all

circumstances and calls for a global moratorium as a first step

towards its universal abolition, in line with resolutions adopted by

the United Nations General Assembly on 18 December 2007 and

on 18 December 2008.

It is therefore with deep regret that the EU has learned that an

execution is set to be carried out in the State of Texas on 15 June

2010. In this case, the EU particularly regrets that Mr. David Lee

Powell is to be executed after more than 30 years on death row,

in conditions of anguish and uncertainty after enduring a number

of errors within the judicial process.

The EU also appreciates the considerable efforts made my Mr.

Powell to aid his and other's rehabilitation whilst on death row

and his attempts to contribute to society.

While we are aware of the suffering of the victims of violent crime

and their families, we recall that with capital punishment, any

miscarriage of justice from which no legal system is immune, represents an irreversible loss of human life. The EU believes that the abolition of the death penalty is essential to protect human dignity and to the progressive development of human rights.

The EU considers capital punishment cruel and inhuman. Furthermore, it has not been found to act as a deterrent. While the EU fully respects the democratic process of other countries, the concern for human integrity and human dignity, which has inspired us to abolish capital punishment, obviously applies to all human beings.

Taking account of these factors, the EU calls upon the appropriate authorities in the State of Texas to grant Mr. Powell relief from the death penalty. The EU trusts that the Government of the United States of America will ensure that the appropriate authorities in the State of Texas will be informed of this statement.

Los países candidatos TURQUÍA, CROACIA\* y la ANTIGUA REPÚBLICA YUGOSLAVA DE MACEDONIA\*; los países del Proceso de Estabilización y Asociación y los países candidatos potenciales, ALBANIA, BOSNIA Y HERZEGOVINA, MONTENEGRO y SERBIA; los países de la Asociación Europea de Libre Comercio y los miembros del Espacio Económico Europeo, ISLANDIA, LIECHTENSTEIN y NORUEGA; al igual que la REPÚBLICA DE MOLDAVIA y AZERBAIYÁN se suman a esta declaración.

\*Croacia y la Antigua República Yugoslava de Macedonia siguen perteneciendo al proceso de Estabilización y Asociación