PC.DEL/1229/22 2 September 2022

ENGLISH only



## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No. 1387 Vienna, 1 September 2022

## EU Statement on "Fourteen years since the full-scale military aggression against Georgia by the Russian Federation"

- 1. 14 years have passed since the August 2008 Russia-Georgia war. As the EU stands united in condemning, in the strongest possible terms, Russia's unprovoked and unjustified war of aggression against Ukraine, we also reiterate our condemnation of the blatant breach of Georgia's sovereignty and territorial integrity by the Russian Federation. This includes Russia's aggression against Georgia 14 years ago, as well as Russia's recognition of, and continued military presence in, the Georgian territories of Abkhazia and South Ossetia. It is a violation of both international law and of Russia's commitments under the 12 August 2008 agreement.
- 2. Georgia's sovereignty and territorial integrity, as well as the human rights of conflict-affected communities in Georgia continue to be violated, including through so-called 'borderisation' policies, closures of crossing points and illegal detentions. Restrictions on their freedom of movement must end. We call again for accountability, including a credible investigation of all past violations of human rights to hold the perpetrators to account and to bring justice to the victims. We call on Russia to implement its part of the 2008 ceasefire agreement and to ensure proper follow-up by the Russian Federation of the landmark ruling by the European Court of Human Rights on 21 January 2021.

3. We remain fully committed to conflict resolution, including through the European Union's engagement as co-chair in the Geneva International Discussions, through the work of the EU Special Representative and the continued presence on the ground of the EU Monitoring Mission. We reiterate the European Union's firm support to the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognised borders.

The Candidate Countries TURKEY, REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, ALBANIA\*, UKRAINE and REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, the Potential Candidate Countries BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA\* and GEORGIA, the EFTA country LIECHTENSTEIN, member of the European Economic Area, as well ANDORRA, and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

\* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.