

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Permanent Council

PC.DEC/376 24 October 2000

Original: ENGLISH

305th Plenary Meeting PC Journal No. 305, Agenda item 2

DECISION No. 376 TIMETABLE AND ORGANIZATIONAL MODALITIES OF THE EIGHTH MEETING OF THE OSCE MINISTERIAL COUNCIL

(Vienna, 27 and 28 November 2000)

I. TIMETABLE

Monday, 27 November 2000

9.15 a.m.	Formal opening
	Address by the host country
	Address by the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office
	First Plenary Session
12.45 p.m.	Family photo
1.15 p.m.	Working lunch for Ministers for Foreign Affairs/heads of delegation
3 p.m.	Second Plenary Session
8 p.m.	Dinner for Ministers for Foreign Affairs/heads of delegation Reception for other members of delegations
Tuesday, 28 November 2000	
9.15 a.m.	Third Plenary Session
	Chairperson's Summary

Formal closure of the Eighth Meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council

12.30 p.m. Press Conference of the OSCE Troika Ministers

II. ORGANIZATIONAL MODALITIES

1. The Eighth Meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council will be conducted in accordance with the relevant decisions of the Helsinki 1992, Budapest 1994, Lisbon 1996 and Istanbul 1999 Summit Meetings. The opening and concluding sessions will be open to NGOs, the press and the public. All the other sessions, with the exception of those dealing with agenda items which are subject to discussion and possible decision, will be broadcast live in all six OSCE languages to the Media Centre and the NGO Centre by closed-circuit television.

Delegations of participating States will be provided with a total of eight seats - one at the table, four behind and three in the auditorium. The European Union (EU) will have one additional seat next to the participating State holding the EU Presidency.

Seats will be reserved for invited organizations, institutions and countries.

2. The meeting will be chaired by the Chairperson-in-Office. In order to ensure that work on the entire agenda can be completed, no statement should exceed five minutes. The order of the statements to be made by the representatives of those participating States that have indicated to the Chairperson-in-Office their intention of making a statement will be established by the drawing of lots.

3. The President of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly will be invited to attend the meeting and make a contribution.

4. Japan and the Republic of Korea (Partners for Co-operation) will be invited to attend the meeting and make contributions.

5. Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia (Mediterranean Partners for Co-operation) will be invited to attend the meeting and make contributions.

6. The following international organizations and institutions will be invited to attend the meeting and make contributions:

United Nations; Council of Europe; Western European Union; North Atlantic Treaty Organization; Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe.

The following international organizations, institutions and initiatives will be invited to attend the meeting and, if they so wish, to make written contributions:

Barents Euro-Arctic Council, Black Sea Economic Co-operation, Central European Initiative, Commonwealth of Independent States, Council of the Baltic Sea States, Economic Cooperation Organization, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, European Investment Bank, International Atomic Energy Agency, International Committee of the Red Cross, International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, International Monetary Fund, International Organization for Migration, Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Organization of the Islamic Conference, South East European Co-operation Initiative, South Eastern Europe Co-operation Process, Special Representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations for Children and Armed Conflict, United Nations Children's Fund, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, United Nations Office for Drug Control and Crime Prevention and World Bank.

7. The meeting will be held at the Hofburg Conference Centre.