ENGLISH only



OSCE Permanent Council No. 1483 Vienna, 18 July 2024

EU Statement on "Ten years since the downing of Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17"

- 1. On 17 July, we honour the memory of the 298 innocent people, including 80 children, of 17 nationalities who lost their lives in the downing of 'Malaysia Airlines' Flight MH17 ten years ago. The ten-year commemoration brings back very painful memories. We renew our deepest sympathies to the families and friends of the victims.
- The European Union reiterates its full support for all efforts to establish truth, justice and accountability, in accordance with UN Security Council Resolution 2166.
- 3. On 17 November 2022, the District Court of The Hague sentenced three individuals to life imprisonment for their role in the downing of Flight MH17. The European Union emphasises that the evidence presented by the Joint Investigation Team in the proceedings before the Dutch District Court, and submitted to the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) and the Council of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), makes it abundantly clear that the BUK surface-to-air missile system used to bring down Flight MH17 belonged beyond doubt to the armed forces of the Russian Federation. No Russian disinformation operation can distract from these basic facts, established by a court of law.
- 4. The European Union reiterates its call on the Russian Federation to accept its responsibility in this tragedy and to cooperate fully in serving justice.

5. The European Union takes note of the proceedings initiated by the Netherlands against the Russian Federation at the ECHR, as well as the proceedings initiated by Australia and the Netherlands before the ICAO Council, which are important steps towards achieving truth, justice and accountability.

The Candidate Countries NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ALBANIA*, UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA*, and GEORGIA, the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as ANDORRA, SAN MARINO and the OSCE Partner for Co-operation AUSTRALIA align themselves with this statement.

* North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, and Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.