

**Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Permanent Council**  PC.DEC/258/98 15 October 1998

Original: ENGLISH

## **188th Plenary Meeting** PC Journal No. 188, Agenda item 2

# **DECISION No. 258**

# TIMETABLE AND ORGANIZATIONAL MODALITIES OF THE SEVENTH MEETING OF THE OSCE MINISTERIAL COUNCIL

(Oslo, 2-3 December 1998)

#### I. TIMETABLE

# Wednesday, 2 December 1998

9 a.m.	Formal opening (open)
	Speech by the Host Country
	Speech by the OSCE Chairman-in-Office
	First Plenary Session (closed)
12.45 p.m.	Family photo
1.15 p.m.	Working lunch for Ministers of Foreign Affairs/Heads of Delegation
3 p.m.	Second Plenary Session (closed)
8 p.m.	Dinner for Ministers of Foreign Affairs/Heads of Delegation Reception for other members of Delegations
Thursday, 3 December 1998	
9 a.m.	Third Plenary Session (closed)
	Chairman's Summary (open)
	Formal closure of the Seventh Meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council
12.30 p.m.	Press Conference of the OSCE Troika Ministers

# II. ORGANIZATIONAL MODALITIES

1. The Seventh Meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council will be conducted in accordance with the relevant decisions of the Helsinki 1992, Budapest 1994 and Lisbon 1996 Summit Meetings. The Ministerial Council will meet in closed session when considering agenda items which are subject to discussion and possible decision. The opening and concluding sessions will be open to NGOs, the press and the public.

Delegations will be provided with a total of eight seats - two at the table, four behind and two in the auditorium.

Seats will be reserved for invited organizations, institutions and countries.

2. The meeting will be chaired by the Chairman-in-Office. In order to cover the entire agenda, no statement should exceed five minutes. The order of the statements to be made by the representatives of those participating States that have indicated to the Chairman-in-Office their intention of making a statement will be established by the drawing of lots.

3. The President of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly will be invited to attend the meeting and make a contribution.

4. Japan (partner for co-operation) will be invited to attend the meeting and make a contribution.

5. The Republic of Korea (partner for co-operation) will be invited to attend the meeting and make a contribution.

6. Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Morocco and Tunisia (Mediterranean partners for co-operation) will be invited to attend the meeting and make contributions.

7. The following international organizations and institutions will be invited to attend the meeting and make contributions:

United Nations; Council of Europe; Western European Union; North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

The following international organizations and institutions will be invited to attend the meeting and, if they so wish, to make written contributions:

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development; European Bank for Reconstruction and Development; European Investment Bank; United Nations Economic Commission for Europe; Commonwealth of Independent States, Council of the Baltic Sea States; Black Sea Economic Co-operation; Central European Initiative; Barents Euro-Arctic Council; International Committee of the Red Cross; Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees; Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights.

8. The meeting will be held at the Plaza Hotel, Level 2, Sonja Henie Ballroom.