

PC.DEL/1347/14 14 November 2014

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 1025 Vienna, 13 November 2014

EU Statement on the Violation of OSCE Principles and Commitments by the Russian Federation and the Situation in Ukraine

The EU is very concerned by the very serious deterioration of the situation in parts of Donetsk and Luhansk Oblasts. The reports published by the Special Monitoring Mission (SMM) about convoys in separatist held areas with substantial amounts of heavy weapons, artillery, multiple-launch rocket systems, tanks and troops without insignia moving westwards represent a very worrying development. Such observations resemble those we were witnessing in Crimea before the illegal Russian annexation. These observations come in addition to reports of heavy outgoing shelling from the Donetsk area, including around the Donetsk airport, and reports over the last week of increased movements of troops and equipment. The Russian-supported separatists are continuing to destabilise the situation and trying to gain strategic advantages in grave violation of the Minsk Protocol and Memorandum.

It is imperative to avoid any further re-escalation of hostilities and worsening of the situation. All parties must now show utmost restraint, strictly abide by their commitments under the Minsk Protocol and Memorandum, and reengage in view of finding a peaceful sustainable solution based on respect for Ukraine's independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity. We call in particular on the Russian Federation to fully assume its responsibilities in this regard, including by preventing any further movement of military, weapons and fighters from its territory into Ukraine, and withdrawing all troops, weapons and equipment under its control from Ukraine, as well as by exercising its influence to ensure that the separatists implement in good faith the obligations assumed in Minsk. We express our concern about the build-up of Russian troops next to the border with Ukraine.

We once again express our strong support for the SMM which continues to provide us with valuable and impartial information on developments on the ground under very difficult circumstances. We continue to rely on the SMM to report on the situation in the areas controlled by the armed separatists and on the implementation of all elements of the Minsk agreements.

The recent developments again underline the importance of establishing substantial OSCE monitoring of the Ukrainian-Russian state border without delay. The safety and security of SMM monitors is of paramount importance and they must have safe and free access to fulfil their mandate throughout Ukraine. We welcome the concept paper circulated yesterday by the SMM on border monitoring and, while noting the constraints highlighted in the paper, not least in regard to security of the monitors, encourage the SMM to move swiftly to implementation of effective monitoring of the border, including by the use of UAVs. We also call on the Chairmanship to put forward options for a significant expansion of the Border Checkpoint Observation Mission as we consider a further renewal of its mandate. We again urge Russia to support expanded and effective OSCE monitoring of the border.

Mr Chairman, the EU recalls its unwavering support to the sovereignty, territorial integrity, unity and independence of Ukraine, and calls upon Russia to do likewise. We urge Russia to recognise these fundamental principles that it has itself invoked many times and to contribute, by acts and public pronouncements, to stabilise the situation and reverse moves that contravene these principles. We reiterate our strong condemnation of the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol to the Russian Federation and we will not recognise it.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+ and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA country NORWAY, member of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.